Accredited German school / IB World School

Our lower secondary school comprises grades 5-10. Lessons start at 8am and go till 2.30pm (Thursdays: 1.40pm). Our lessons are based on German curricula. In addition, and per our school license agreement with the Kurdish Ministry of Education, we teach a few subjects in Kurdish. Students who do not speak (or write) Kurdish receive additional support. 

 

In our lower secondary school, we teach the following subjects:

 

German

English

Kurdish

Arabic (in grade 5)

French (optional instead of Arabic from grade 6 onwards)

Music

Art

Math

Computer science (grades 5-7)

Natural sciences (grades 5/6)

Physics (starting in grade 7)

Biology (starting in grade 7)

Chemistry (starting in grade 8)

History

Geography

Sozcial studies (Kurdish subject)

Religion (Kurdish subject)

Sports

Grade 5 serves as an orientation in which students can test the different levels of performance. At the end of grade 5 students will be assigned a specific level (Hauptschule, Realschule, Gymnasium). Students of different levels are taught together, but through internal differentiation teachers take different levels into account. 

 

The German school offers the German degrees after grades 9 and 10. Students at the Hauptschul-level take their final examinations at the end of grade 9. If they reach a given grade point average, they may enter grade 10 at the Realschul-level. At the end of grade 10, students take their final exams for the Realschule and Gymnasium.

 

The final examinations will be provided by the German KMK (Kultusministerkonferenz (Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany)). Please find the relevant KMK regulations here (in German):

https://www.kmk.org/fileadmin/Dateien/veroeffentlichungen_beschluesse/2017/2017_03_16-PO-SekI-Deutsche-Schulen-Ausland.pdf

Are you moving or returning to Kurdistan? Changing over to the German school in Erbil from any school in Germany or a school in which German was the primary language of instruction is in most cases prossible at any time. If you wish to enter grade 10 and participate in our final examinations, the school must obtain permission from the German KMK.

 

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Anerkannte Deutsche Auslandsschule / IB World School

Die Sekundarstufe I umfasst die Klassen 5 bis 10. Der Unterrichtstag geht dabei von 8 Uhr bis 14.30 Uhr (donnerstags: 13.40 Uhr). Der Unterricht erfolgt nach deutschen Lehrplänen. Zusätzlich unterrichten wir auf der Grundlage unseres Schulvertrags mit dem Bildungsministerium der Region Kurdistan einige Fächer auf Kurdisch. Schülerinnen und Schüler, die kein Kurdisch sprechen, werden gesondert gefördert.

 

Unser Unterrichtsangebot umfasst die folgenden Fächer:

 

Deutsch

Englisch

Kurdisch

Arabisch (Klasse 5)

Französisch (wählbar anstatt Arabisch ab Klasse 6)

Musik

Kunst

Mathematik

Informatik (Klassen 5-7)

Mensch/Natur/Technik (Klassen 5/6)

Physik (ab Klasse 7)

Biologie (ab Klasse 7)

Chemie (ab Klasse 8)

Geschichte

Erdkunde

Soziales (kurdisches Fach)

Religion (kurdisches Fach)

Sport

 

Die Klasse 5 dient als Orientierungsstufe, in der die Schülerinnen und Schüler die unterschiedlichen Anforderungsniveaus erproben können. Zur Klasse 6 erfolgt eine Einstufung in die Hauptschule, die Realschule oder das Gymnasium. Die unterschiedlichen Stufen werden gemeinsam, aber binnendifferenzierend unterrichtet.

 

Die Deutsche Schule Erbil bietet die deutschen mittleren Abschlüsse an. Am Ende der Klasse 9 legen die Hauptschülerinnen und Hauptschüler die Hauptschulprüfung ab. Schülerinnen und Schüler, die entsprechende Leistungen erbringen, können anschließend als Realschülerin oder Realschüler in die Klasse 10 wechseln. Die Prüfung zum Mittleren Schulabschluss (Realschule) bzw. zur Berechtigung zum Übergang in die Qualifikationsphase der gymnasialen Oberstufe (für gymnasial eingestufte Schülerinnen und Schüler) findet am Ende der Klasse 10 statt.

 

Die Prüfungen werden zentral für alle Deutschen Auslandsschulen von der Kultusministerkonferenz (KMK) aus Deutschland bereitgestellt (https://www.kmk.org/themen/auslandsschulen.html) und richten sich nach der Ordnung für den Abschluss der Sekundarstufe I an Deutschen Schulen im Ausland, die von der Webseite der KMK heruntergeladen werden kann:

https://www.kmk.org/fileadmin/Dateien/veroeffentlichungen_beschluesse/2017/2017_03_16-PO-SekI-Deutsche-Schulen-Ausland.pdf

Ein Wechsel von einer Schule in Deutschland bzw. einer anderen Schule, an der in deutscher Sprache unterrichtet wurde, an die Deutsche Schule Erbil ist im Regelfall jederzeit möglich. Ein Wechsel an die Deutsche Schule Erbil zur Klasse 10 (Prüfungsjahrgang) ist nach Genehmigung durch die KMK, die von der Schule eingeholt wird, möglich.

 

Wenn Sie Fragen haben, vereinbaren Sie bitte mit der Verwaltung einen Termin.