IB Diploma Programme

Deutsche Schule Erbil
ib-world-school.png
Anniversary-Badge-5-EN.png
IB Diploma Programme

The German school in Erbil is an IB World School officially accredited by the IBO organization (www.ibo.org/school/051560/). After graduation from lower secondary school (grade 10), we offer the IB Diploma Programme in its bilingual form, i.e. we teach some of the subjects in German and some in English.

In 2021, the German school in Erbil has successfully completed the IBO's five-year-evaluation. The IBO's final evaluation report indicates no "matters to be addressed" and lists a substantial number of commendations highlighting our school's strengths in implementing the IB diploma programme. You can download the evaluation report here.

 

The IB diploma programme takes two years (grades 11/12) and includes the following subjects:

 

Higher Level

English

Chemistry (English)

Biology (German)

 

Standard Level

German (language/literature)

History (German)

Math (German)

Core elements

Theory of Knowledge (TOK)

Creativity / Acitivity / Service (CAS)

Extended Essay

 

The IB diploma is recognized in most countries as a university entrance qualification, including Germany and Kurdistan/Iraq. Please find additional information regarding recognition of the IB diploma here: https://www.ibo.org/university-admission/recognition-of-the-ib-diploma-by-countries-and-universities/

 

The Kultusministerkonferenz in Germany (KMK) is recognizing the IB diploma as a university entrance qualification. Please find further information including a conversion table of IB diploma points to the German Abitur grade point average here: 

https://www.kmk.org/fileadmin/Dateien/veroeffentlichungen_beschluesse/1986/1986_03_10-Vereinbarung-Baccalaureate-Dipl.pdf

 

Additional information is available on the website of the German Academic Exchange Service:

https://www.daad.de/deutschland/nach-deutschland/voraussetzungen/de/61122-anerkennung-des-ib-diploma-in-deutschland/

 

The IB diploma is also recognized in the Kurdistan region of Iraq. The subjects we offer (biology and chemistry higher level) allow our students to apply for places in medical and pharmacy schools. If you intend to apply for engineering programs, universities that use the admission process for public universities in Kurdistan may require additional AP exams in physics and, depending on the field of study, mathematics. Please note that the regulations regarding university admission in the Kurdistan region are changed regularly. 

 

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

dp-programme.png
IBO.jpg

IB Diploma Programme

Deutsche Schule Erbil
ib-world-school.png
Anniversary-Badge-5-EN.png
IB Diploma Programme

Die Deutsche Schule Erbil ist eine von der International Baccalaureate Organisation anerkannte IB World School. Im Anschluss an die Sekundarstufe I bietet die Deutsche Schule Erbil das IB Diploma Programme an (www.ibo.org/school/051560/). Das IB Diploma Programme wird dabei zum Teil in deutscher und zum Teil in englischer Sprache unterrichtet (das sogenannte „Gemischtsprachige Internationale Baccalaureate  / GIB“).

Im Jahr 2021 hat die Deutsche Schule Erbil die Fünfjahresevaluation durch die IBO mit einem sehr guten Evaluationsergebnis abschlossen. Der Bericht der IBO enthält keine "matters to be addressed" und unterstreicht durch viele "commendations" die Stärken des Diploma-Programms an der DS Erbil. Der Bericht kann hier heruntergeladen werden.

 

Das IB Diploma Programme dauert zwei Jahre (Klasse 11 und 12) und umfasst an der Deutschen Schule Erbil die folgenden Fächer (ab 2021/2022):

 

Higher Level

Englisch

Chemie (Englisch)

Biologie (Deutsch)

 

Standard Level

Deutsch

Geschichte (Deutsch)

Mathematik (Deutsch)

 

Übergreifend

Theory of Knowledge (TOK)

Creativity / Acitivity / Service (CAS)

Extended Essay

 

Der Abschluss „IB Diplom“ wird in sehr vielen Ländern der Welt als Hochschulzugangsberechtigung anerkannt, u.a. in Deutschland und in der Region Kurdistan. Weitere Infos zur Anerkennung weltweit finden Sie hier: https://www.ibo.org/university-admission/recognition-of-the-ib-diploma-by-countries-and-universities/

 

Die Kultusministerkonferenz in Deutschland erkennt das IB Diploma als Hochschulzugangsberechtigung an, wenn bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllt werden. Den entsprechenden Beschluss der KMK inklusive Umrechnungsschlüssel ins deutsche System finden Sie hier: 

https://www.kmk.org/fileadmin/Dateien/veroeffentlichungen_beschluesse/1986/1986_03_10-Vereinbarung-Baccalaureate-Dipl.pdf

 

Weitere Informationen zur Anerkennung in Deutschland finden Sie auf den Seiten des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes:

https://www.daad.de/deutschland/nach-deutschland/voraussetzungen/de/61122-anerkennung-des-ib-diploma-in-deutschland/

 

Auch in der Region Kurdistan wird das IB Diploma als Hochschulzugangsberechtigung anerkannt. Die von uns angebotene Fächerkombination (Biologie und Chemie im higher level) erfüllt die Voraussetzungen zur Aufnahme eines Studiums in Kurdistan im medizinischen Bereich. Wer an einer Universität in Kurdistan, die das staatliche Zulassungsverfahren nutzt, ein Studium im Bereich Ingenieurswesen aufnehmen möchte, muss zusätzliche Kenntnisse in Physik und ggf. Mathematik nachweisen, z.B. über eine AP Prüfung. Bitte lassen Sie sich hierzu individuell beraten und informieren Sie sich bei den kurdischen Bildungsbehörden, da es regelmäßig Änderungen bezüglich der Voraussetzungen in Kurdistan gibt, auf die die Schule keinen Einfluss hat.

 

Wenn Sie noch Fragen zum IB haben, vereinbaren Sie bitte gerne über die Verwaltung einen Termin.

Auf unserer Alumni-Seite erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen!

dp-programme.png
IBO.jpg